Recipe – peach, basil, mozzarella salad

There’s a few stand-by magazines I get recipes from, Real Simple is one of them.  I like to rip recipes from magazines and keep them in a file.  If I try them and we like them, they get put in a plastic sheet protector and go into my 3-ring recipe binder.  If they suck, it goes right into recycling.

The thing is, I’ll gather lots and lots of recipes, but it takes me a while to try them.  I was going through the folder of recipes to try and came across this salad I ripped out of an issue of Real Simple.  It’s from August 2006.  Six years ago I ripped this out and still hadn’t tried it. Like I said, it takes me a while to try them.

My friends Meg and James have a garden at their house in the city (really it’s James’ garden). And I got a boatload of basil from them. I put it to use in this recipe. I didn’t have peaches on hand, so I used nectarines.  Loved it.  The toddler just ate the mozzarella and called it chicken, which is her name for every food that she is unfamiliar with.

Don’t wait six years to try this.  It’s super easy and super good!

Serves 4| Hands-On Time: 10m| Total Time: 10m

Ingredients

Directions

  1. Cut each peach into 6 to 8 wedges, then cut each wedge in half crosswise.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the peaches, basil, and mozzarella. Drizzle with the oil, sprinkle with the salt and pepper, and toss. (You can cover and refrigerate the salad for up to several hours.) Serve cold or at room temperature.

By Kate Merker ,  August, 2006

Leave a Reply

