Recipe – Hearty Beef Stew & RIP Everyday Food

This post contains two confessions.

1 – I have the power to make magazines go out of business.

I swear that every magazine I like goes out of business.  Cookie – see ya later.  Budget Living – no longer.  Cottage Living – buh bye.  Blueprint – gone.  And now Everyday Food.

Oh Martha, I like Everyday Food so much better than Living.  It’s just about the recipes.  And the recipes usually aren’t super involved. I don’t feel like a domestic failure when I read Everyday Food.  But now Everyday Food is just going to be a 5 time a year supplement to Living.  And that sucks.  Plus I just renewed my subscription.  Urgh!

2 – I am a spice wimp.

I can’t do hot and spicy foods.  I can’t.  I told a co-worker that once and she said “that doesn’t fit with your personality”. Why it may not fit with my personality, that’s how my taste buds roll.

So I tried this recipe from Everyday Food this past weekend.  I always exactly follow a recipe the first time I make it and then make adjustments for the next time.  So I used tomatoes with green chilis, per the recipe.  I bought some labeled “medium”.  To my wimpy tastebuds, it was waaaayyyy more than medium.  As my dad would say “Holy BALLS, this is hot!”

So that being said, the next time I make this recipe I will use fire roasted tomatoes, as that will be more gentle on my Germanic/Irish palate.   But this is a great, easy stew.  The meat comes out very tender and it really doesn’t require much work.

I used gluten-free flour and it turned out great.  So GF friends, no need to shy away.

Here’s a sendoff to Everyday Food.  May you rest in the magazine cemetery in peace.

 

bag-beefstew-007a-med109135_vertHearty Beef Stew

This can also be made in a slow cooker: Reduce water to 1/2 cup, add potatoes at the beginning with the other ingredients, and cook on high for 5 hours.
Everyday Food, December 2012

  • Prep Time5 minutes
  • Total Time2 hours 10 minutes
  • YieldServes 4

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 pounds beef chuck, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 cans (14.5 ounces each) diced tomatoes with green chiles
  • Coarse salt and pepper
  • 3/4 pound small potatoes, halved
  • 1/2 pound frozen peas and carrots, thawed

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a large heavy pot, toss beef with flour. Stir in tomatoes, 1 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon pepper, and 4 cups water. Bring to a boil over medium-high, transfer to oven, and cook 1 hour. Stir in potatoes and cook until beef and potatoes are tender, about 1 hour more. Stir in peas and carrots and let sit 5 minutes before serving.

Cook’s Note

Five minutes of prep for a rich, wholesome stew? You can’t beat that.

 

Leave a Reply

